Sign Up   |  
Log In
Username:
Password:
Log In
  |   Contact Us

Rhode Island Marriage License Info

Home   |   Local Services   |   Reception Sites   |   Specials & Deals   |   Community   |   Marriage License   |   Wedding Blog   |   Link To Us   |   About Us
Before you can get married in the state of Rhode Island, you will need to take care of some legal matters. The sooner you can get them out of the way, the better. First off, you will need to get a Rhode Island marriage license. This can be applied for at the clerk’s office in the county you chose to get married in. You can usually find clerk offices in the county probate court or the circuit court.

There is a one time fee for the marriage license for $24; only cash is accepted as a payment. There are residency requirements for the state of Rhode Island. If you and your partner are residents of Rhode Island, you can get your marriage license from a Town Clerk of the city you reside in. If only one of you resides in Rhode Island, go to the Town Clerk of the city the partner lives in. Either of these situations will have your marriage license valid through out the state. But if you and your partner do not live in Rhode Island, you will have to apply for a marriage license in the county you will be getting married in.

Once you have paid for your marriage license, you will receive it right away, since there is no waiting period. There is also no waiting period for marriage, so once you get the license, you can get married right away. You and your partner are required to be 18 years or older if you would like to get married without parental consent. The two of you will need to bring birth certificates to verify your age. If you or your partner is not 18 or older, a parental consent form will be needed; you will also need to bring a certified copy of your birth certificate. If under the age of 16, you will not be able to get married without a court order.

No blood tests or physical exams are required of you and your partner to get a marriage license. Once you have the Rhode Island marriage license, you will have 90 days to get married before it is expired. If either you or your partner were previously married, but are now divorced or widowed, it is necessary to provide the date of the divorce or death. You will also need to provide copies of the divorce decree and death certificate; both of which can be ordered and obtained online.

After your wedding ceremony, you will receive a piece of paper known to be a marriage certificate. This will show proof of your legal Rhode Island marriage. You will need to show this to government agencies if you have decided to change your last name to your spouse’s (i.e. motor vehicles and social security). You will also need to present the marriage license to other institutions you do business with, such as banks, employers, credit card companies and memberships. You can also use the legal name change kit to help with the process. You will need to complete all of the necessary forms before or after your marriage ceremony, but it is recommended that you complete the forms before the wedding takes place; this will leave less for you to do later on.

Marriages that are not allowed in the state of Rhode Island include common law marriages, same sex marriages and marriages by proxy. Cousin marriages are permitted. A man is not allowed to marry his aunt, but he can marry is cousin. A woman is permitted to marry her uncle if she is Jewish.
 
 
Advertise | Business Login | Local Services | Specials & Deals | Community | Marriage License | Wedding Blog | Link To Us | About Us